MacBook, iMac or MacBook Pro?

If you have the same question, this post may help you to find out what you want.

The reason I want to buy a Mac is because of my Fujitsu notebook which was bought about two years ago. It has nothing bad indeed yet the display is really a disadvantage. Now I’m considering to use the Mac environment instead of windows because it does offer a better user experience. The ease of browsing webpages with the MacBook Air trackpad makes me wonder why Microsoft windows did make this happen. 

Let me tell you about my situation. I’m using a newly bought iPhone 6 for about a week. There are a few reasons to buy it. First is that my girlfriend is also using iPhone, which I think it’s a good idea to use the same system. Secondly, my last android phone, LG G pro, was too big for me to hold it by a single hand. It is my first time to spend on iPhone. It’s really doing a decent job to solve all of my daily tasks, with a paritcularly wonderful job on the camera. Also, i found no phones under 5 Inches on the market that offers such nice experience. I have to say now I’m in honeymoon period with this phone. 😉

I’m thinking about to get the Mac for my desktop. I’m not the person who needs to work at different sites. Yet occasionally I do think it is a good idea to use my own laptop spending a relaxing afternoon in a coffee shop. The main purpose of using laptop is web browsing.

The MacBook (2015) is 13.1mm thin, weighs 907g, has a new keyboard and the force-touch  trackpad and even comes in gold. It also features a 12-inch retina display. You can immediately notice the bright, vivid and detailed display on this laptop. The resolution is 2304 x 1440 pixels, which is equivalent to a pixel density of 226 dpi. From the number you  know it’s almost as sharp as the MacBook Pro with retina display. That’s what I’m looking for. There is also a USB-C port, which is the only port on the laptop.

Another attractive feature is the new trackpad. There is a pressure sensor built underneath so the laptop responds according to how hard you are pressing on it. In fact, the actual feel is a trackpad with two stops instead of one.  For illustrations, you can now preview a file in finder by pressing the trackpad to the first stop. Apple said more possibilities are there with the new design.

However, all these new features come with a high price. The 1.1 Ghz version costs 9988 HKD while the 1.2 Ghz version costs 11988 HKD. The processor is not as powerful as the other Mac laptops but it should be enough to offer a smooth web browsing experience for me. 

Keyboard is 17% bigger than the MacBook Air and uses a new design that makes the typing experience better.

In the new MacBook the only port available is the new USB-C port. This will be the port for data transfer via cable, video output, as well as the power plug. It implies that, for example, you are likely not able to charge your MacBook while transferring pictures from your DSLR camera.

The battery of MacBook is reengineered so that more cells are packed into the spaces. This provides promising battery life for all daily tasks.

The iMac, on the other hand, offers supreme performance and screen size and quality, which is ideal for desktop users. It’s all-in-one design let your desk for work looks fashionable. And iMac is affordable, starting at 8388 HKD. If you are looking for a desktop computer, this is your best choice.

Leave a comment